Craft Fair: Leeds Film Festival: Handmade Nation + Indie Crafts Leeds

I’m doing my first craft fair this weekend!

I’m breaking myself in slowly, by not actually selling any of my own work, but I have to start somewhere. 

My WI group has been invited to come along and do a demonstration of patchwork quilting and sell a few pre made items as part of the Leeds Film Festival showing of Handmade Nation.

I’m extremely excited as I have read a great deal about this film and I’m very interested to get an opportunity to see it, especially when it is a free event.
This will be a warm up to my bigger event of the month at the Knitting and Stitching Show in Harrogate, where I will be demo-ing on the Yorkshire Federation of the WI stand on the Friday.
So if you are in Leeds this weekend with time on your hands, you may want to pop over too…
A Nation of Shopkeepers
Sunday 14, 2010 7:00 pm to 11:00 pm — Leeds Film Festival: Handmade Nation + Indie Crafts Leeds
Film 7pm – 8.30pm / Event 5pm – 11pm / Free entry

Welcome to the Handmade Nation, the new wave of art, craft and design. Artist and filmmaker, Faythe Levine takes us on a journey around the USA documenting the new wave of ‘Indie Crafts’. Take an exclusive peek into this community of creative people, independent boutiques, galleries and craft fairs where historical techniques and traditional handiwork meet punk culture and the DIY ethos. An event jam-packed full of art & craft fun and frolics followed by your chance to see the film.

This entry was posted in She makes things.... Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Craft Fair: Leeds Film Festival: Handmade Nation + Indie Crafts Leeds

  1. Jenny says:

    That sounds like fun and I bet you get the bug for selling your work. I was really concerned about my first market stall, not about money but whether people would like the things I made and fortunately they did. Have a great time, can't wait to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

