The girl with flour on her hands


I
missed the episode Great British Bake Off last night, so I don’t know who was eliminated.  Don’t tell me as I plan to watch it on the iPlayer tonight. 

But I I jolly well hope it is Ruth.Her comment last week that being a Mum is very competitive really set my teeth on edge!

Have you been following the programme?  It has become addictive viewing in our house.  The very first week Ian was very scornful of a competitive baking programme, but by the end of the programme he was on the very edge of his seat.  For the last few weeks we have pulled up boxes or over turned crates clutching our mugs of tea to watch eagerly the fantastic baking dramas.

It seems that we aren’t the only people to find the programme gripping or controversial Anne Harrison of the W.I. wrote a good piece in the Guradian noting her disagreement with Paul Hollywood. From which I have taken the following:

The judges on The Great British Bake Off have very different styles. Mary Berry is someone even I would be nervous to cook for. The other judge, Paul Hollywood, has obviously spent his life in commercial baking. I don’t always agree with him. To test a scone, the WI teaches that you don’t need to cut it with a knife – you should be able to pull it apart along its natural split. Hollywood said that was wrong – but if you cut a scone with a knife, it compacts the texture as you press down. It’s the same with gingerbread.

I was always taught to split a scone by twisting it along the natural split line by my Grandma. I didn’t realise that cutting with a knife compacted the texture.  It is just something that I have always done because my Grandma told me too. 

Mary Berry on the other hand is such titan of baking that I would wilt under her gaze, and I have been so impressed with her.  Her comments and criticisms have been both fair and encouraging. She has explained the faults and suggested remedies.  You can guarantee that non of those bakers will make any of those mistakes again!

All in all I have thoroughly enjoyed the programme.  It hasn’t driven me to dig out my whisk and mixing bowl as they are almost permanently on the kitchen work top. I’m a baker through and through, and I doubt very little will change that.

This entry was posted in Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The girl with flour on her hands

  1. one of our fav in the moment

Leave a Reply

