Philippa’s Perfect Posset

My very favourite place on earth to eat is at the Bridge Inn in Whorlton, County Durham. Paul and Naomi who own and run the pub and restaurant have brought a wonderful slice of city chic to the countryside.

We love it so much that this is in fact where we had the ‘meal’ part of our wedding reception, before moving on to the Village Hall to dance the night away.
Paul’s food is simply to die for. I just can’t describe it well enough. If you are ever passing please, please do take a detour to pop in. You won’t be disappointed.
And if you do, make sure you have the Whitebait {which Paul has incidentally named after my Dad} and then for mains, have the fishcakes. You won’t want to leave. Ever.
I don’t have a sweet tooth, and will normally order the cheese board with out even a glance at the puddings, but last time I was at The Bridge I was intrigued by the pudding served in a half pint glass. It looked like a whippy soft lemon mousse. It was a Lemon Posset.
I have to confess I hadn’t ever heard of a Posset before so bravely ordered and tucked in. It was heaven in a {half} pint pot.
Back in London I couldn’t stop thinking about the dreamy lemon delight, so took to my bed with a pile of recipe books. Several test runs later I think I may have cracked it. Through a combination of James Martin and Tessa Kiros I present to you…
Philippa’s Perfect Posset.
One pint of Double Cream.
Five oz Caster Sugar
Zest and Juice of Three unwaxed lemons.
~ Pour cream and sugar into a large thick bottomed pan.
~ Bring very slowly to the boil.
~ Once boiling, boil for a further three minutes, stirring all the time.
~ Set aside and allow to cool completely.
~ Once cool, whip in juice and zest of lemons.
~ Pour into serving glasses and allow to set.
~ Serve with tiny little shortbread.
This entry was posted in food, She makes things..., the bridge inn, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

