autumn is in the air, it is under my feet, and it is in my bones.

I don’t know what it is like in your part of the world, but here in South East London it is like someone has flicked a switch and Autumn is here. Trees are starting to turn shades of gold, yellow and red their leaves softly floating to the ground. Little children are scampering off to school wearing backpacks that are almost as large as they are.

The air has taken a cool touch, which makes me want to dash home and dig out my cashmere scarves and fingerless gloves. I want to dig out my thick woollen tights and pull on my beret.

I’m over come with the urge to buy new back to school stationary and fill my pen pots with freshly sharpened pencils.

I want to nest.

I’m already about to embark upon a decorating challenge. We bought a new settee last weekend, and amazingly it will arrive a week on Friday. So the sitting room is getting a new look.

I want to plump brand new feather cushions on chairs, and change the summer quilts out for an autumn weight duvet cover.

I want to stroll around farmers markets and buy local apples, and cook up batches of jams.

I want to clear my desk, bid farewell to summer and welcome Autumn with open arms.

Oh how I have missed you!

This entry was posted in About me, london. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to autumn is in the air, it is under my feet, and it is in my bones.

  1. dottycookie says:

    Now the first day back at school is almost over, I'm ready to embrace autumn too. I've spent the last week or so trying to hold it back, but it's inevitable!

  2. Liz says:

    Love this post as it describes exactly how I feel. Autumn? Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

