Reflecting

I have a rather horrid number birthday looming on the horizon (ok, it isn’t until August – but its there, lurking, I can see it…) and knowing that it is coming has recently made me start thinking, have I changed much in the last 10 years? Where did I think I would be in my, ehm, year?

Well I don’t think that I would have imagined that I would be married and living in London, that is for sure. Ten years ago I would have been in the process of finalising my dissertation on the Social and Environmental Legacy of Lead Mining within Upper Teesdale. Having some of the best fun I think I have ever had (not on the dissertation, but at University) and generally being happy go lucky.

I certainly have achieved one thing. The organisation I currently work for was formed in 1996, the year before I went to University and it became my aim to get a position with them on graduation. As all graduates do, I found that they wouldn’t employ me with out experience, but I couldn’t get a job with them in order to gain that experience. Catch-22.

I zigged and zagged for a few years through some interesting jobs before finally, seven years ago, I was offered a job with them. A lowly job full of excitement, an awful lot of mud, sewage and pollution. I loved it. I charged around the local countryside from farms to sewage works to car accidents to scrap yards to the north sea. After a few years, I still loved the charging around and the people I was talking to, but I soon realised that though the people were different, the conversation was the same. So, though with the same organisation, I changed jobs a few times. Worked for our head office on everything from Agricultural to Flood Risk Management. Then, in a fit of delusionment, I apply to become researchers / advisor / gofor to the Chief Executive, and blow me I got the job.

So that is how I ended up down here in London. I worked for the CEO for just over 2 years, till she herself moved on to a different organisation, and I took the chance to take a slightly less manic role in the organisation.

It is safe to say that ten years ago, I would never have dreamt that I would have work where I have, met the people I have, written the work I have, heck, I certainly never thought I would have written any speeches in the first place.

Though I do regret not having travelled like many of the university friends have. I have had my adventures, don’t get me wrong. But I never did any of the ‘gap year’ stuff that many friends did.

The strangest thing is, ten years ago I knew Ian. We were friends in our local theatre company. But here is the secret, I’m a little older that Ian. In fact, he is rather my toy boy. Ten years ago, he was cute, gangly and extreamly shy. He started university, the year that I graduated. That would kind of give you an idea of what I am talking about. So being married wasn’t on my radar, and to Ian?! Never in a million years. Yet here we are. Extreamly happy.

Funny how things work out isn’t it?

This entry was posted in About me. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflecting

  1. Liz says:

    Love this post. I think it’s good to look back every now and again. (Problem is, when you get to be as ancient as me, there’s rather a long way to look back!). Enjoy your weekend.

Leave a Reply

