Cupid adventures

We have been very busy for at least the last four months. Both Ian and I have fairly high pressure jobs, which mean we work very long hours (grr). Weekends are very valuable too us, but late last year, they seemed to be consumed with wedding planning. We’re not grumbling, it was certainly worth it! But it did eat up our together time.

Weekends in January were taken up by our Honeymoon (no complaints there at all!) but then there was the unpacking (and endless washing) and the decorating. Humm, yes, that one is my fault. With the decision to by the new bed, I took the opportunity to completely repaint the bedroom.

Worth it? Defiantly, but it did take up some time.

I decided that we must do something about this lack of us time. I bought the brilliant book – The Wonderful Weekend Book: Reclaiming Life’s Simple Pleasures by Elspeth Thompson. I had it gift wrapped and Amazoned to Ian at work. He didn’t know anything about it, and bless him he was really thrilled when it arrived.

Now I have to confess, it has actually been me who has been reading it, tucked up in bed at night, reading portions aloud. It has given us ideas. We live very close to Blackheath, one of the best places to go kite flying in London, but yet we haven’t been at all and we do have a very grand kite.

So for my valentines gift to Ian I have gone to town a little.

I want our weekends to be for adventures, time spent together exploring. In order to plan these adventures (we are big planners) I have bought a few books.

We had such a wonderful time in New Zealand staying in wonderful motels (motel has a very different meaning over there – no Crossroads or scary American murder ville motels) and fantastic B&Bs that we quiet want to try it over here.

Fingers crossed, we’ll be packing up the picnic set and heading off on the open road (as open as the M25 ever gets) in search of fresh air, blues skies and bucket loads of adventure soon!

This entry was posted in Days out. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cupid adventures

  1. Liz says:

    That’s such a good plan and I hope you do lots of posts about your weekend adventures. I’m very guilty of yearning for Friday then, come Sunday evening, find I’ve done absolutely nothing. Oh, and thanks for solving the riddle of the jockeys!

  2. These might give you some suggestions for things to do with a kite and an old camera in Blackheath!http://blackheathbugle.wordpress.com/tag/kite/

  3. Oops – I meant< HREF="http://blackheathbugle.wordpress.com/tag/kite/" REL="nofollow">http://blackheathbugle.wordpress.com/tag/kite/<>

Leave a Reply

