Oh I do like to be beside the Seaside….

Saturday we ventured back to the wonderful place that is Whitstable on the Kent coast. Whitstable is an Historic Costal Town, and has managed to preserve the wonderful feeling of just stepping out of a Jane Austen novel. Famous for Oysters the working Harbour is just fascinating, piles of nets line the walls. There is a lively fish market where you can either buy something fresh from the sea for supper or a tub of whelks, mussels or even a dozen Oysters to eat whilst you wander through the harbour market.

Further up into the town are just some fantastic shops. The very best being Harbour books.

I love shops like this, higgledy piggledy with an amazing range of books, all for stunningly cheap prices. How do they do this? Is there a regular and clumsy lorry driver who rumbles through Whitstable of a Friday evening dropping books as he goes? It is a puzzle, and one I guess I won’t work out.

Not that I mind.

A few weeks ago I bought an arm full of books for £18 and then again this weekend I bought a stack of books for £19 including the wondrous Apples for Jam.

I have read heaps about Apples for Jam, but it has always been too expensive in the shops, but then I saw it for £9 in Harbour books, and I have been reading it every night in bed since. {I tried the Olive Oil Foccacia last night – not a stunning success, but one I want to try again and perfect}.

I did however remember to take my camera with me this time…

Whitstable - June 2008 015

Oyster shells which they use to cultivate the oyster beds.

Whitstable - June 2008 012

Seaside alpines

Oyster huts

Whitstable - June 2008 005

Sunshine feet

All in all a splendid day.

This entry was posted in Days out. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh I do like to be beside the Seaside….

  1. Amy says:

    Philippa…Your blog is like a book to me; an escape from Tennessee, stepping into a novel in England 🙂I adore London. I travelled there in March 1993, just after graduating from college with a degree in English Literature…I was in heaven, needless to say!I was totally jazzed when I saw my swap partner was living in one of my fav cities in the world! I am a lover of all things British; the Union Jack, Hello! magazine and “Eastenders”, just to name a few things. I love a spot of tea. With cream.I shant clog up your blog with my ramblings….please send me an email so we can chat. I have read your entire blog to learn things about you…I not only want to send you some of MY favorite things; but some of YOURS as well. I hope we can continue to be blog/pen pals….I have continued to adore my past swap partners, they are special 🙂Until then,Amy

  2. Philippa says:

    Don’t worry about clogging up the blog, its lovely to get your commetns – have emailed you though.P x

  3. Liz says:

    Great photographs. I love the colours. Especially those socks!

  4. Philippa says:

    Thanks – I seem to only own bright stripy socks. Great for days like this, but not when they can be seen just below your smart work trousers!

Leave a Reply

