Material Girl


I went yesterday to that temple of the high street, Marks & Spencer’s to buy a new set of underwear.

I am having a wedding dress fitting on Saturday and my Mum very firmly told me to make sure I had sensible underwear on. Now I’m not sure what she was thinking, but after taking one look at my underwear draw I thought it was about time that I bit the bullet and bought a new set in a safe conservative nude colour.

So off I trundled to M&S to be faced with racks of skimpy, lacy, delicate little scraps of material which clearly did not fall into the ‘Sensible’ category that Mum had so firmly stressed.

After what felt like an hour of staring at rack of bras claiming to push you up, minimise you, have racing backs, invisible straps, removable straps, smooth finish, plunging fronts, t shirt finish, gel filled, padded, underwired, non wired, cotton finished, satin finished…. The list went on in and attempt to save my sanity I grabbed the first ‘sensible’ nude coloured bras that I could find and dashed to the check out.

When I finally tried them on in the safety of my bedroom and wriggled into my posh frock that I have to wear on Thursday evening to go to this event, I felt like I was wearing armour.

Something akin to Madonna or a Fem Bot from Austin Powers. To my horror I was padded and pushed up beyond my wildest nightmares. In my attempt to escape the oppressive and scary place that is the lingerie section of M&S I had picked up entirely wrong styles which did less than nothing for my figure.

So this morning I had to trek my way through the commuting hordes at Victoria to thankfully return the said items and get my money back.

So at some point in the next 24 hours (though goodness knows when) I think I out to be brave and go and be measured to find out would really work for me.

Hopefully I’ll be a little less material girl this time.

This entry was posted in About me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Material Girl

  1. Chaya Bluma says:

    Ugh! Bra shopping is the worst. And of course every time I find a style that fits it is immediately discontinued before I can stock up.I read your American foods post you left me the link to and you are absolutely right. But the fun continues – I totally didn’t get the joke about the biscuits!

  2. Philippa says:

    I work with an Australian girl and we are forever not understanding each others jokes simply due to language, which in its own way is quite a giggle!

Leave a Reply

