Home sweet home

We went home this weekend to celebrate Ian’s Mum’s birthday. When we have such a whistle stop weekend like this I stay with my parents. It was so wonderful to see them and the cats, as I have been feeling so homesick recently.

The cats were just wonderful. Bethany was a sweetie for about five minutes, then took to her bed again. Mum and I joked that we should get her calling cards, stating that she will receive visitors in her rooms between 2 o’clock and 4 o’clock!
She looked so comfortable when I took this photograph.

Tommy was also on good form, he plays like a little baby, rushing round and round and round until he literally falls over and crashes out to sleep. Mum sent me this picture last night when she managed to get him to sit still for a moment.

Mum and I popped over the road to the museum to look at the Queen Mother’s Watercolour exhibition. The collection is certainly eclectic and though I do not really hold a passion for Watercolours (normally quite the opposite) I did really love the John Pipers’, there are a few in the Tate Britain so I think I will slip in one lunch time and take a look.

After the museum I spent a merry hour or so in the garden with Mum picking flowers to take back to London. By the end we were both rather wet, thanks to the wonderful weather we have had recently, but very happy with two bouquets which looked good enough to charge £30 a piece!

One wholly of roses and the second of a mix of flowers and foliage from bamboo to poppy seed heads to Lady’s Mantle (Alchemilla mollis), Astrantia ‘Shaggy’ and Astrantia Major. We bundled them into brown paper and tied with twin. Looked wonderfully professional until the gates on the tube concourse at Kings Cross closed on them squishing them tight.
I managed to resurrect them with a little love and care.

It is lovely to have a little piece of Mum’s garden with me.
This entry was posted in About me, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home sweet home

  1. love.boxes says:

    That is such a beautiful garden photo! Beautiful!

  2. Philippa says:

    Thank you! My parent’s garden is such a dream; Mum really has green fingers.

  3. kelly says:

    oh! i miss english gardens, they are always so beautiful.

  4. Philippa says:

    Thanks, Mum’s garden is certainly beautiful, I could just sit on that bench with a good book forever.

Leave a Reply

